Poetry gong: June 1, 2 & 3 (and 4th if you need it)

We’re going to write (at least) three poems between June 1 and June 4. It was initially going to be a 3-day poetry gong (which is an extended, daily practice “poetry” style), but schedules (work, travel, appointments, etc.) are such that we want one extra day for wiggle room. So over the next few days, Deb, Jill (who hasn’t officially signed on for the gong yet, but we’re hopeful we can coerce her) and I will be posting poems for the gong here at the Kettle.

Here’s our topic/focus: bugs or insects. Here’s how that came to me: Just now, I was thinking of June. And that lead to “June bugs.” And then I remembered I have a bug bite (mosquito) on my ankle. And then I remembered how itchy it was. And then I told myself not to scratch it. And it made me frustrated with bugs. But then I remembered how much I like butterflies. So, bugs/insects it is. I know. It’s a little weird. I am confident we can work with it.

Some of you expressed interest in writing along with us on your own blogs, and of course, we’d love it! Feel free to let us know here or in any of the gong-related posts that you’re writing with us. You can even leave a link to your draft if you want with the understanding that people may or may not come by to read (since that isn’t our focus anymore). If people tromp around and read — great! If not, it will be enough to celebrate our “solidarity” in the challenge. Sound good? OK!

15 thoughts on “Poetry gong: June 1, 2 & 3 (and 4th if you need it)

  1. I love bugs. Well. Not skeeters. But even they have their place as I was just reading today!

    For reals. I was reading about skeeters on my ride home (on the bus)!

  2. Pingback: not a creative confession | Stoney Moss

  3. Pingback: 6.01.11 | a gnarled oak

  4. Pingback: June poetry gong: Carolee’s #1 | A FINE KETTLE OF FISH

  5. Pingback: June poetry gong: Deb’s #1 | A FINE KETTLE OF FISH

  6. Pingback: 6.02.11 | a gnarled oak

  7. Pingback: June poetry gong: Deb’s #2 | A FINE KETTLE OF FISH

  8. Pingback: June poetry gong: Deb’s #3 | A FINE KETTLE OF FISH

  9. Pingback: 6.03.11 | a gnarled oak

Leave a comment