An idea from Deb’s poem

I am back from a weekend trip, and I love what Deb has done as a tribute to Big Tent. I want to write from it, without borrowing the same lines she borrowed. I was thinking I would take two words from each line and use as many of the pairs as I could in a new poem. Deb & Jill, I figured I’d post the list in case it inspires you, too! I am not sure I’ll get to write tonight (I am short on sleep), but I will get started soon!

midnight surprise
wake-up mirror
scarves discover
clearing inside
these imperfect
want warehouse
anxiety torn
about difficulty
squeezing blue
dust wings
come singing
clay happenstance
keep simply
walk without
accepts cup
no shell
thereโ€™s infinity
miracles fields
at ordinary
crawling then
river dreams
turquoise morning
yes fog

9 thoughts on “An idea from Deb’s poem

  1. Of course, if this inspires anyone else, feel free to write also & link back here. We aren’t pushing readers out to poems/blogs anymore, but that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t write!

    • What a great idea, Carolee. This is just what I was hoping we’d do. Inspire each other organically. And I like the idea of the Tent casting a few more ripples. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I love the mixed metaphor of a ripple-casting tent! One of the ripples is that three of us are thinking of starting a new prompt site – following the excellent example of BT in prompting one day and allowing a few days for the writing: much better poetry results from the time for reflection. We’re a bit scared of the commitment – if you three geniuses have resigned, what hope is there for us?!

    • Oh, do it!!!!

      Carolee & Jill are poetry geniuses. Me? I’m a hanger-on, glad for their company & inspiration!

      Let us know when your site is up & we’ll add it to the BTP resource page. Be sure to leave it in the last post at BTP! And visit I will!

      Yippee! Let the ripples travel far & wide. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Pingback: From “want warehouses” | A FINE KETTLE OF FISH

  4. Pingback: tangential fringe | A FINE KETTLE OF FISH

  5. Pingback: Going back a couple months … | A FINE KETTLE OF FISH

Leave a Reply

